2015 Conference

2015 Conference – A Conduit to the Future

The ITS Arizona 22nd Annual Conference was held on Wednesday September 30, 2015 and Thursday, October 1, 2015 at the Mesa Convention Center. The conference began with a half-day course on ‘Improving Safety with ITS’, courtesy of ITS America and the U.S. Department of Transportation’s Professional Capacity Building Program.

On the second day of the conference, a total of 28 presentations were available to attendees, including 3 from the finalists of the Student Paper Competition presenting their work. The Past Presidents’ Awards were given out, including the Member of the Year, which was posthumously awarded to Pete Yingling for his years of service to both ITS Arizona and IMSA. The winner of the Student Paper Competition was announced and the results of the elections for the 2015-16 ITS Arizona Board of Directors were presented.  Following on the success of the 2014 conference, we again had excellent attendance by both individuals and sponsors/exhibitors, and we hope to continue the trend at next year’s ITS Arizona 23rd Annual Conference.

 Photo Highlights

Conference Program and Presentations

Final Conference Program

Day 1 – USDOT Professional Capacity Building Course

Day 2 – Conference Sessions

2015-16 Board of Directors Election Results

President – Jamie Blakeman

Vice-President – Scott Clark

Secretary – Kim Carroll

Treasurer – Ratna Korepella

Past President – Khamchanh Ratsavong

Members-at-Large – Jeff Jenq, David Lucas, Scott Miller and Mike Sutton

(From left to right: Scott Miller, Mike Sutton, Ratna Korepella, Kim Carroll, Scott Clark, Jamie Blakeman, Jeff Jenq, Khamchanh Ratsavong. Not Pictured: David Lucas)

Past Presidents’ Award Winners

Best ITS Planning Project

EVP Best Practices Study

MAG & OZ Engineering

Best ITS Implementation Project

Valley Metro Ridekick

Valley Metro & GlobeSherpa

2015 Best ITS Implementation Project

Member of the Year

Pete Yingling

Student Paper Competition Winner

Monirehalsadat Mahmoudi, from Arizona State University, won the competition for her paper titled A City with Fully Coordinated Vehicle Sharing System: Finding Optimal Solutions for Vehicle Routing Problem with Pickup and Delivery Services with Time Windows“.