ITS Arizona

The Intelligent Transportation Society of Arizona is the leading advocate for technologies that improve the safety, security and efficiency of the nation’s surface transportation system. Our 300+ members include public agencies, private corporations and academic institutions involved in the research, development and design of Intelligent Transportation Systems technologies that enhance safety, increase mobility and sustain the environment

The Intelligent Transportation Society of Arizona is a chapter of the Intelligent Transportation Society of America (ITS America). ITS Arizona is a non-profit organization founded in 1994 consisting of transportation professionals dedicated to improving transportation efficiency and safety, using advanced technologies.

ITS Arizona Chapter Bylaws

Past ITS Arizona Presidents

Past ITS Arizona Members of the Year

Board of Directors

Srini Goundla PE, PTOE


Srini is a Senior Traffic Engineer with AZTEC Engineering. Srini has over 22 years of experience in managing Traffic Engineering and Intelligent Transportation Systems projects in both public and private sectors. His experience includes Read More

Mike Washkowiak PE, PTOE

Vice President

Mike Washkowiak is a Vice President with Iteris’ Mobility Consulting Solutions division. He has over 24 years of experience; including ITS, emerging technologies, multimodal systems, and transportation operations Read More

Hunter Venne PE


Hunter has eight years of civil engineering experience at Dibble Engineering. She started as an intern while completing her Bachelor’s and Master’s degrees. She completed her Bachelor’s in Civil Engineering at Read More

Deanna Haase PE


Deanna has been involved in the ITS community in Arizona for the past 18 years. She has led or managed many components of ITS, TSMO, transportation operations, and performance analysis projects around the country, mostly in Arizona, Nevada, and Utah, and Read More

Michelle Beckley PE, PTOE


Michelle is a Project Engineer at Y2K Engineering with nine years of experience in traffic engineering, specifically in safety, operations, and active transportation planning. Read More


MariaAngélica Deeb is the Transportation Projects Coordinator for the City of Mesa, AZ and have been in this position for 18 years. She is the Co-Chair for the Mountain District Read More

Omar Aboulaban

Omar Aboulaban is an ITS Technology Engineer for MCDOT. He has a passion and aptitude for new and emerging technologies with over four years of experience specializing in Intelligent Transportation Systems (ITS), Connected Vehicle, Read More

Stephen Doubek, PE, PMP

Stephen Doubek is the Traffic Design Branch Manager for MCDOT and he has over a decade of experience in traffic engineering including planning, design, and implementation of ITS solutions in Arizona. He Read More

Ray Yparraguirre PE PTOE

Ray Yparraguirre is a Principal Engineer with Iteris’ Transportation Systems division. He has over 25 years of experience in ITS, transportation, safety, and active transportation planning and design. Read More

Advisory Panel

The volunteer advisory panel is made up of ITS Arizona Past Presidents who remain involved with the organization and serve as a valuable resource to the board given their years of service to ITS Arizona. Membership is limited to ITS Arizona Past Presidents and they are appointed as non-voting volunteers.

Faisal Saleem
Past-President (2004-2005)

Faisal Saleem joined as the Director of National Operations Center of Excellence (NOCoE) early 2022. In his new role Faisal looks forward to fulfilling the strategic direction of the Center by serving and engaging broad TSMO community of professionalRead More

Scott Miller
Past-President (2006-2007)

Scott Miller is a public transportation planning professional with 27 years of transit system and operations planning.  Scott has worked on Federal Transit Administration funded alternatives analyses, environmental analyses, and capital designRead More

Dave Bruggeman, PE, PTOE
Past-President (1995-1996)

Dave Bruggeman is a Principal with Lee Engineering, a Phoenix-based consulting firm specializing in ITS and traffic engineering design and studies, and was an original Founding Father of ITS Arizona, serving as Treasurer and President. Read More

Sanjay Paul, PhD, PE, PTOE, PTP, RSP
Past-President (2020)

Dr. Sanjay Paul is HDR’s Desert Southwest Area Traffic Business Leader. He offers a wealth of knowledge and expertise in the space of transportation technology, intelligent transportation systems, evolving mobility and predictive safety in addition Read More


Chapter Sponsors





How to Reach Us

Contact Us

ITS Arizona
PO Box 67043, Phoenix, AZ 85082