2016 Conference

2016 Conference – Connecting Mobility and Safety

The ITS Arizona 23rd Annual Conference was held on Wednesday, September 28th and Thursday, September 29th, 2016 at the Mesa Convention Center. The conference began with a very well-attended half-day Connected Vehicle workshop that discussed the latest developments from the Connected Vehicle National Pilot Deployments in Tampa, Florida; Wyoming and New York City, as well as an update on the Arizona Connected Vehicle test bed in Anthem.  This was followed by a live Connected Vehicle demonstration of V2I technologies with DSRC, presented by Gridsmart and Denso.

The second day of the conference began with a great keynote address and a panel discussion with the newly formed Arizona Self Driving Vehicle Oversight Committee. During the breakout sessions, a total of 24 presentations and a panel discussion were available to attendees, along with several opportunities to visit the booths of our great sponsors and exhibitors and learn more about their latest products and services. During lunch, the Past Presidents’ Awards were presented, including the Member of the Year, which was followed by a celebration of AZTech and its 20 Years of Innovation.  In addition, the ITS Arizona membership voted to approve amended bylaws, the undergraduate and graduate winners of the Student Paper Competitions were announced and the results of the elections for the 2017 ITS Arizona Board of Directors were announced.  Following on the success of the 2015 conference, we again had excellent attendance by both individuals and sponsors/exhibitors, and we look forward to continuing the trend at next year’s ITS Arizona 24th Annual Conference.

 Photo Highlights

AZTech 20th Anniversary Celebration

Additional Photo Galleries

Conference Program and Presentations

Final Conference Program

Day 1 – Connected Vehicle Workshop

Day 2 – Conference Sessions

2017 Board of Directors Election Results

President – Scott Clark

Vice-President – Kim Carroll

Secretary – Ratna Korepella

Treasurer – Sanjay Paul

Past President – Jamie Blakeman

Members-at-Large – Jeff Jenq, David Lucas, Scott Miller and Mike Sutton

Jamie Blakeman, Scott Clark, Kim Carroll, Ratna Korepella, Sanjay Paul, David Lucas, Mike Sutton, Scott Miller, Jeff Jenq and Michelle Beckley

Past Presidents’ Award Winners

Best ITS Planning Project

Benefit-Cost Evaluation of the Pilot Project to Co-Locate DPS Troopers at the ADOT TOC


Brent Cain, Sarath Joshua and Jamie Blakeman

Best ITS Implementation Project

Arizona Transportation Research Institute


Larry Head and Jamie Blakeman

Best Use of a New/Improved Industry Product

FLGRide Passenger App



Member of the Year


University of Arizona

Scott Miller, Larry Head and Jamie Blakeman

Student Paper Competition Winners

Miranda Aakre and Christian Tafoya, from Northern Arizona University, won the undergraduate competition for their paper titled Pavement Data Collection: What Bikes Could Tell Us“.

Miranda Aakre, Jamie Blakeman and Christian Tafoya

Chengchuan An, from The University of Arizona, won the graduate competition for his paper titled “Detecting Impacts of Communication Loss on Signal Performance Using Event-Based Data“.


Award accepted by An’s advisor, Dr. Yao-Jan Wu, with Jamie Blakeman