2017 Conference

2017 Conference – Building Smart Infrastructure

The ITS Arizona 24th Annual Conference was held on Wednesday, September 27th and Thursday, September 28th, 2017 at the Mesa Convention Center. The conference began with a very well-attended half-day Smart City workshop that featured federal, state and local experts providing insights on Smart City visions, initiatives and innovative funding opportunities.

The second day of the conference began with a great keynote address on Technology and Transportation: Past, Present & Future. During the breakout sessions, a total of 25 presentations and a panel discussion were available to attendees, along with several opportunities to visit the booths of our great sponsors and exhibitors and learn more about their latest products and services. During lunch, the Past Presidents’ Awards were presented, highlighting the excellent work being done in the region.  In addition, the ITS Arizona Member of the Year was announced, the Graduate Student Paper Award was presented and the results of the elections for the 2018 ITS Arizona Board of Directors were announced.  Following on the success of the 2016 conference, we again had excellent attendance by both individuals and sponsors/exhibitors, and we look forward to continuing the trend at next year’s ITS Arizona 25th Annual Conference.

Photo Gallery – Day One Workshop

Photo Gallery – Day Two Technical Sessions

Photo Gallery – Sponsors & Exhibitors

Conference Program and Presentations

Final Conference Program

Day 1 – Smart City Workshop

Day 2 – Conference Sessions

2018 Board of Directors Election Results

President – Kim Carroll

Vice-President – Ratna Korepella

Secretary – Sanjay Paul

Treasurer – Arnab Gupta

Past President – Scott Clark

Members-at-Large – Michelle Beckley, Jeff Jenq, David Lucas and Mike Sutton

Sanjay Paul, Jeff Jenq, Srinivas Goundla, Kim Carroll, David Lucas, Scott Clark, Arnab Gupta, Mike Sutton and Michelle Beckley. Not pictured: Ratna Korepella

Past Presidents’ Award Winners

Best ITS Implementation Project

East Valley ARID Sensors and Arterial Travel Map

TOWN OF GILBERT, CITY OF MESA & CITY OF TEMPE (In Partnership with Iteris, OZ Engineering & Roadway Electric)

Jeff Jenq, Roger Koehler, Tricia Boyer, David Lucas, Ken Lowery and Scott Clark

Best New or Updated ITS Industry Product

AZTech Regional Automated Traffic Signal Performance Measures (ATSPM)


Jeff Jenq, April Wire and Scott Clark

Member of the Year



Scott Miller and Scott Clark

Graduate Student Paper Competition Winner

Amin Ariannezhad, from The University of Arizona, won for his paper titled “Mining ITS Sensor Data for Freeway Real-Time Crash Prediction in Arizona”.

Amin Ariannezhad and Scott Clark